JACKSON- The USA Football Network has given Millsaps alum (B.S. 1992) and Hall of Fame member (Class of 2004) Sean Brewer one of the highest honors in Division III football. The Division III Defensive Lineman of the Year Award will be called the Sean Brewer Award, recognizing the Major for his stellar four-year career.

The USA Football Network oversees the Gagliardi Trophy, also known as the Division-III Heisman. This season, the Network has expanded its awards to recognize the best football players at each position in addition to recognizing the best overall player.

"I am humbled and honored for such an outstanding award to be given in my name," Brewer said. "It is truly indicative of the quality of teammates and quality of school that I experienced while at Millsaps."

Brewer rewrote the Division III record books during his career in Jackson. Brewer is the lone defensive lineman and one of five players in Division III history to be a three-time All-American. Brewer accomplished the three-peat his sophomore through senior years (1990-1992). Brewer was also a two-time Champion USA All-America First Team honoree (1991 and 1992), as well as the SCAC's Defensive Player-of-the-Year those same two seasons.

"My four years at Millsaps will always be remembered as one of the best experiences of my life," Brewer said.

Brewer is the Majors' all-time leader in solo tackles with 332, quarterback sacks (52) and is second in total tackles with 435. He also holds the single-season record in solo tackles (99) and sacks (15).

The Majors plan to officially honor Sean for this great honor at a pre-game ceremony this season. Visit for further details.

For information regarding the Sean Brewer award visit here.